Posted by: jkirkby8712 | December 14, 2010

Tuesday, 14 December 2010 – Christmas Shopping, and music, on a warm day

Took a bit of time off work this afternoon, in order to do the bulk of my ‘Christmas shopping’ [rather than leave it all until the last two days as is my usual habit!].  Mind you, most of my shopping took place at the one store – Readings bulk bookshop, etc, etc, in the inner suburb of Carlton on  bustling Lygon Street – an area which could be almost described as ‘little Europe’. It doesn’t seem to matter what time of day you come here,  the place always seemed to be packed with people shopping, eating or drinking over the few blocks of built-up restaurants, coffee houses, and retail/business establishments that make it such a vibrant part of inner suburban Melbourne. Fascinating place, wish I’d spent some of my younger days in this part of town!  Not much of a place for me to wander around on my own for entertainment or dining purposes however,  the Readings store is my main attraction to the area in 2010.

After tonight’s stint on the radio – where I featured some of the recordings of blind American former singer, Ray Charles –  I called around at the local police station – just a general enquiry about the possibility of some kind of leniency being granted [if applied for] in the case of Susie’s penalties last night, particularly in respect to the loss of demerit points. I already knew that there was a basis for an appeal once the actual fine notice was received, just wanted to get an idea as to the possibility of success in such a case. As expected, remote, but worth a try!! At home, Susie mentioned that friends had given her similar advice.

Leave a Reply

Categories

