Posted by: jkirkby8712 | January 26, 2011

Monday, 24th January 2011 – Day 1 of a short week!

I had a bit of a diversion on the way to the office today – finding an auto service prepared to undertake a simple tyre repair at short notice. Our organisation’s regular auto place didn’t have time, so I was forced to go back to the bulk ‘K Mart Auto’ style store. Like myself on Friday, an initial perusal of the offending tyre, didn’t really reveal what had caused the ‘deflation’ problem. I left it with them anyway, to be collected later that afternoon. A few minor trips associated with the job planned during the day, but nothing of any great distance – generally not a wise move to drive around without a spare tyre!

Incidentally, after a very warm, humid and uncomfortable tonight, I had awoken this morning to discover that it was raining steadily outside, and in fact, continued that way for the whole of my drive this morning.  That left me with some concern for Susie, who was driving back up to Bendigo again today – searching out accommodation for her year [or 8 months] of planned post graduate study at the La Trobe University up in that city. While she had a friend travelling with her today,  it was a pity that once again, she would have to do the trip in poor weather – although, as I drove south, the weather behind me, and to the north, seemed to be improving, as indeed it did. Anyway, all I could do, was hope the trip went off without mishap, and didn’t really try and contact her through the day.

In fact, it was a rather busy day at the office – first committee meeting for the year, with all except one member present. Unlike a couple of years ago, I was generally not required at these meetings any more. Under Jackie’s guidance, the membership executive itself, was looking after that side of things, such as minute taking, etc. I guess when that change first took place, that I was a little bit ‘put out’, particularly as the committee meetings these days are far less confrontational and as argumentative as they used to be – the role would be a bit more peaceful, less stressful now!  However, it did give me the opportunity to get on with other things while such meetings were in progress, even though it meant being responsible for most aspects of the ‘catering’ side of things in lieu of. How things have changed since the days if senior financial management roles with the municipal councils I once worked for – but then, the current job role had been my choice, a chance to wind down to a large degree in my last years of fulltime employment, even if that meant that some of my ‘responsibilities’ were of the basic office management type of 40 years earlier!!!

One of the books I purchased a few weeks ago from ‘\Christmas present’ vouchers was a book by a lady named Stephanie Dowrick, called ‘Seeking the Sacred – Transforming our view of ourselves and one another’. Not normally of the genre of book I would read [I’ve begun it, but have not got very far into it as yet]. I still wonder why I purchased it – was it simply the impressive orange patterned pages about a subject which seems to have been summed up in a few paragraphs in those early pages?  I’m certainly not suggesting that there won’t be some useful material \ in the book, but as this point, I’m wondering just how much can be said on the subject! Nevertheless, there are some interesting points made, just how many times will they be repeated throughout the subsequent sections?  The first section of the book, for eg, is on the topic of ‘Reverence’, and there is an interesting paragraph on p. 37, which reads as follows.

“Making the world sacred – or, more precisely, ’making our view of the world sacred’ and acting accordingly – certainly cannot be left to governments, corporations or major institutions, even religious ones. Religious institutions are themselves far too deeply implicated in the problems to relieve them effectively. This is a quiet but passionate revolution that can only be achieved by individuals – in the company of one an other. It means thinking as well as perceiving with reverence and often with humility. It means thinking inclusively, taking for granted that what is most important to us is also important to others” In simple terms, is she suggesting ‘do unto others as you would have them do to you’?  Seems practical enough! Even statements like that leave me with the thought that ;just our ‘real to life’ is this book going to come over as?  Or is it just another ‘pie in the sky’ or utopia visions of how one writer likes to see things? Well, I will give it a fair go, but not until I’ve finished reading Bryce Courtney’s latest novel [another Christmas present] – ‘The Fortune Cookie’. I must admit that at present, that is retaining my interest and desire to keep reading at a much higher level than Ms Dowrick’s writings!!

Meanwhile, the following three sayings came via an email, just recently – thought I’d finish this entry, with them here. The latter came from Elenor Roosavelt, perhaps the others did also, not sure!

  • Life is 10% what happens to you, and 90% how you respond to it.
  • A word of encouragement during a failure is worth more than an hour of praise after a success.
  • Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, and today is a gift, that’s why they call it the present. [Elenor Roosavelt].
Leave a Reply

Categories

