Posted by: jkirkby8712 | August 13, 2011

Saturday, 13th August 2011 – just simply in the mood for a bit of reading!

A chilly overcast morning, didn’t feel encouraged to go out for a walk, or do some of that much needed work in the garden, or even the many writing jobs, etc, I currently have on the go – simply wanted to do some reading when I eventually got up this morning.  I love books, but over the last few months, not much reading has been done, with time spent in other directions. Sometimes, I think I try and do too much, and end up, never really giving anything a 100% attention. Feel a little that way this morning – there are a number of books on hand that I’ve begun to read this year – some serious and biographical, others a more lighter, easily read novel. Got into one of the latter today  –  ‘On Dangerous Ground’ by Sue Cook, the story of a mother, whose comfortable family life seems to have evaporated, with the separation from your husband, and her teenage daughter leaving home [in England] for a gap year working in Vietnam. When her daughter ‘disappears’ from her job, and is rumoured to be working with a group of activists in rural Vietnam, she packs her bags, and immediately flies out to Vietnam to look for her daughter. If I devoted the day to it, and forgot everything else, I could finish this novel before Sunday, already the storyline is ‘tugging’ at my heart strings, and I don’t really want to put the book down.

However, in Bill’s usual fashion, the pleasure of doing one thing, is always negated by the feelings that there are other tasks I should be attending to.  I must even keep an eye [or an ear] to this afternoon’s horse racing program in Melbourne. As part of a small ‘betting social’ group, associated with the radio station, it has been my turn this weekend to spend the group’s weekly ‘betting allocation’  –  in fact, last week was my turn, and because I came out in front [won back more than we spent], I get another go at the role!  So I will be interested to keep a track of how far my $40 investment is proceeding this afternoon!!  In the meantime, my football team is playing over in Perth [Western Australia] this afternoon – no free to air TV coverage, so I shall have to depend on the radio for progress there also. I’m glad it’s a cold and potentially wet afternoon, the perfect excuse to remain indoors!

As for the Carlton football team, the Club ‘tells’ me that the team flew out to Perth early yesterday,  to prepare for this afternoon’s match against the Fremantle Dockers  at Patersons Stadium. Twenty-three players were joined by coaches and officials on the flight to Perth.  Saturday’s game will be the final time for 2011 that Carlton will wear the light blue clash guernsey. The AFL requirement is for Carlton to wear a clash guernsey in away matches against Fremantle, Melbourne, Port Adelaide and St Kilda   Dennis Armfield, who was a late withdrawal last weekend, has returned to the the team after overcoming an ankle injury. Armfield was very close to playing against Melbourne last weekend but it was decided the additional recovery period was the best option.  Andrew Carrazzo has recovered from a calf injury that has kept him out of the team for the last five matches. The two players to make way for the return of Carrazzo and Armfield are Ryan Houlihan [I feel sorry for him, he has been emergency for the past two matches, and was given very little match time to prove his worth] and Brock McLean [whose performances have been a bitr disappointing this season],  Meanwhile, young Indigenous player,  Jeff Garlett will play his 50th game for Carlton today.   Garlett joined Carlton via the 2009, and  made his AFL debut in round one, 2009 against Richmond at the MCG .  He was the 1,116th player to represent Carlton in the AFL/VFL. A rising star nominee in 2010,  Garlett was runner-up in Carlton’s goalkicking last season and is also second on the list this year with 40 goals.  Always an exciting player to watch, during a game.  More about today’s game, later on.

I’ve received quite a deal of email correspondence recently from a distance family connection, and in the process, he has forwarded me many copies of old newspaper and official documents, concerning one particular branch of the family, connected to descendants of my great great grandmother [a Kennedy] who married our original ‘Kirk’ settler here in Australia. Interestingly [as a Blues supporter], I’ve learnt that one of the descendants on her side of the family tree, played for the Carlton football team, way back in 1871, and in fact I how a photo [did they have photography back then?] of the complete team,, including the Kennedy in question, dressed in their neck to toe football outfits that they would grace the football ground wearing, in those days. I must pass this little piece of history onto to my eldest son, at some stage.

The Carlton visit to the other side of the continent was successful this afternoon, and the Blues proved to be a bit too classy for the Dockers team, with a win that should have been even more convincing had they kicked a bit better for goal.  The relative closeness of the final scores were probably not a true reflection of the difference between the two teams, particularly with Carlton being outscored in the last quarter, bit of ‘relaxation’ happening there, I think.  Final quarter by quarter scores were as follows.

 

Carlton Blues:                     5.5.35        7.10.52        11.16.82         FINAL:   16.19.115

Fremantle Dockers:             3.0.18        4.2.26            7.7.49           Final:  12.13.85

Not so successful was my horse tipping, and while we did recoup some of our expenditure, the afternoon ran at a loss, and I won’t get a third week in a row at that role!!   Actually, after writing that sentence, I checked the results of the last two races, and discovered that I had chosen the eventual winner on both occasions –  which in fact, put us ahead – spent $40, collected, on my calculations, around $53.  That probably means, that I will in fact, get the tipping job again next week!!! Generally however, I refuse to get too carried away with picking, I tend to do it more as an interest, than with any genuine hope of making a fortune, which unless they are extremely lucky, most people do not achieve through that kind of ‘gambling’

In the meantime, a visit during the afternoon, from my kid’s Mum, together with a rather neglected dog belonging to elder son James –everyone else in the family, seems to spend more time giving ‘Murphy’ some company than his supposed master! Shirley came over to use Susie’s computer, and while she was doing that, yours truly entertained the dog [which absolutely adores company and attention] while at the same time, keeping the two resident cats at a distance!!   I discovered later in the afternoon that the cats would be my charge for the next few days – Susie was heading up to Bendigo this evening, and as usual to my annoyance, she persists in waiting until after dark before heading off!!  Anyway, being left alone for the rest of the evening, I decided not to go to much trouble over an evening meal., and would return to a period of reading, the mood which began this day!

A couple of days ago, I mentioned my visit to the theatre, where I saw a ‘modern’ production of  Shakespeare’s play ‘Hamlet’..That performance is still playing on my mind, and rather than go back to that day’s posting, I’ve decided to include a few quotes from the play itself. The longer of these, will be familiar to most people, even if they know nothing else about the play itself!

Haste, haste me to know it, that I, with wings as swift As meditation or thoughts of love, May sweep to my revenge [Hamlet, 1.5. 29-31]

There is special providence in the fall of a sparrow. If it be now, ‘tis not to come; it it be not to come, it will be now; if it be not now, yet it will come – the readiness is all.  [Hamlet: 5,2]

I heard thee speak me a speech once, but it was never acted, or if it was, not above once; for the play, I remember, pleas’d not the million, ‘twas caviar to the general. [Hamlet: 2.2.432-433]

And from Act 3; Scene 1:

To be, or not to be : that is the question:
Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer
The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune,
Or to take arms against a sea of troubles, And by opposing end them? To die: to sleep;
No more; and by a sleep to say we end
The heart-ache and the thousand natural shocks
That flesh is heir to, ’tis a consummation
Devoutly to be wish’d. To die, to sleep;
To sleep: perchance to dream: ay, there’s the rub;
For in that sleep of death what dreams may come
When we have shuffled off this mortal coil,
Must give us pause: there’s the respect
That makes calamity of so long life;
For who would bear the whips and scorns of time,
The oppressor’s wrong, the proud man’s contumely,
The pangs of despised love, the law’s delay,
The insolence of office and the spurns
That patient merit of the unworthy takes,
When he himself might his quietus make
With a bare bodkin? who would fardels bear,
To grunt and sweat under a weary life,
But that the dread of something after death,
The undiscover’d country from whose bourn
No traveller returns, puzzles the will
And makes us rather bear those ills we have
Than fly to others that we know not of?
Thus conscience does make cowards of us all;
And thus the native hue of resolution
Is sicklied o’er with the pale cast of thought,
And enterprises of great pith and moment
With this regard their currents turn awry,
And lose the name of action.–Soft you now!
The fair Ophelia! Nymph, in thy orisons
Be all my sins remember’d.

In the meantime, I hope to finish reading  ‘On Dangerous Ground’ before the night is out  –  work on the family history has stopped for the weekend!    While from today’s ‘Age’ newspaper, Leunig’s cartoon includes the little piece which says:-   ‘Here is the news’ says the voice on the radio. It falters……and then continues: ‘Oh what does it matter, we all have our disasters. Let’s have some music’.     Good idea!  Reminds me, have I got my morning program organised yet?

 

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

