Posted by: jkirkby8712 | October 16, 2011

Saturday, 15th October 2011 – Spring Saturday, and Caulfield races

It’s a beautiful Spring Saturday morning in Sunbury – I was out early for a visit to ‘The Big Fella’s’ establishment for a well overdue haircut  – Pat had moved to a new location since I last visited him, and late yesterday, I walked the town, looking for his new hairdresser shop – found  him at the very end of my stroll [of course], but with a shop full of customers at that stage, decided to take advantage of Pat’s early Saturday morning opening hours – just a short wait this morning! Then back home for some breakfast before heading over to the nearby town of Melton to visit a couple of car sales establishments – with my job finishing next week [and the vehicle I use, going with the job], I am obviously in need of an alternative.

Today is also ‘Caulfield Cup Day’, one of the big lead in horse races prior to the Melbourne Cup, this year scheduled for the 1st November. I must admit that of recent, I’ve not taken a great deal of notice of the Cup field – something else to study, later on!!  On an initial glance, the international horse, No. 9 December Draw with Michael Rodd on board is in brilliant form, three wins from last four races, and seems to be the odds on favourite. However, I often avoid favourites, a win doesn’t earn much profit usually anyway,  so have decided to go with No. 16, Green Moon, winner of the Newcastle Cup last start, and prior to that, second to December Draw. In fact my tip for first three placings are Green Moon [16], Southern Speed [18] and December Draw [9] in that order. However in such a big race as this, with potentially 18 starters, and prizemoney of $2.5 million, there are always a lot of potential winners, and a victory from one of many other chances in the race would not surprise. The Caulfield Cup is a Group 1 race,  run over 2,400 metres, and is timed for 4.05pm this afternoon. The rest of the Caulfield program today includes  2 Group 2 races and 3 Group 3 races, a fairly impressive line-up of racehorses.   I shall return with the Cup outcome, a little later.

Drove over to Melton, late this morning, and eventually found the car sales showroom I was looking for  – left about an hour later, having more or less signed myself up to purchase a 2006 Mitsubishi Lancer Sedan 4 speed manual  – interesting choice, have driven automatics for the last 20  years or so!  To confirm the purchase next week after road worthy test, cleaning, etc completed. Car was a one owner, and while 2 years older than the vehicle I was currently driving, had travelled about 35,000 less kilometres, having been a one-owner local driver.

Subsequently, with respect to the horse races, what a pity I forgot to put on a bet, would have come away with some winnings!!!  Caulfield Cup result, later this afternoon  –   1st. Southern Speed.   2nd:  Green Moon.  3rd: Tullamore.  As for December Draw, that horse ran a shocker!!

I popped around to one of the local cricket grounds after the Cup – but left my run too late – the weather had changed, and my son’s cricket team were sitting around waiting for it to change again – while I was talking to Adam, it was still raining lightly, and getting cold. Lucky I had mowed the lawn, and brought the clothes in off the line a brief time earlier while the sun was still shining!  Anyway, Adam had another chance in his club’s senior team today [after last week’s wash out] – he told me he went 1st wicket down, and in his team’s score of 130, he managed to pick up 12 runs, and stay at the crease for half an hour or so.  Of course, soon after I left the ground to return home, the rain stopped, and the sun came back out!! The cricket started  again, but didn’t last for long, as the wicket proved too slippery & dangerous to play on, a pity, another drawn result with the game unfinished. Typical of the usual start to the cricket season in this part of the state!!

Rugby World Cup Update – Semi Final 1:  I watched this game tonight, France versus Wales. I guess that the French were favourites, but it was a very pro-Welsh crowd of supporters at Eden Park in Auckland, and that support intensified early in the game, when the Welsh lost two of their key players, one through injury, and then their captain was sent off the field for the duration of the match after a misdemeanour!!  When meant that the Welsh 80% of the match with one player less. Despite that, it was a gutsy performance by the Welsh but they couldn’t produce quite enough to stop the French team who went on to win a low scoring game 9-8.  Speaking after the match, the Welsh coach Warren Gatland said about the captain, Sam Warburton  “He is not a dirty player so what’s the point in spoiling a semi-final by giving him a red card? I am absolutely gutted about it. “But we showed great character and if we’d have slotted a goal we might have won the game. But we were down a man against world-class opposition and the fact we had a chance to win just shows the character of our players. I’m really proud of them.”   Meanwhile, I must admit that after that match, I felt it would be difficult for either France or Wales to be able to defeat either New Zealand or Australia, tomorrow.  But of course, I could be very wrong there!

Defeated Wales rue Warburton red card

Sam Warburton was sent off for his tip tackle on Vincent Clerc
Leave a Reply

Categories

