Posted by: jkirkby8712 | November 16, 2011

Monday, 14th November 2011 – back to Sunbury

After the earlier awakening by the rooster on the property, I joined Ross and Jean down in the kitchen area shortly after 7.30am, and soon afterwards, Ross was off to the Grammar School. Though he didn’t get far! We were having a bit of breakfast, when he rang Jean to say that his bike had ‘stopped’. I offered to pick him up, but after a second phone call, when he couldn’t get his motor bike going again, it was decided that Jean & Alwyn would take the trailer, while Ross in the meantime, decided to have a day off, as he’d only completed half the journey!!

So in fact, it was soon after 8am, and I found myself on my way, somewhat earlier than anticipated. I had thought initially, that I could use this day to travel a little further north, to Talbot, and do some family history exploring. However, I decided instead, that I would slowly make my way back towards Sunbury, even thought of doing one of my walks around the Lake, but again, as I’d not done as much walking recently as prior to previous attempts on the lake circuit, would give that a miss also, this time!!  I did drive up to Lake Wendouree, and went for a bit of a stroll around the Botanical Gardens and lakeside area in that part of the complex. It was  a beautiful sight to see my beloved Lake Wendouree full of water again, and again being used for boating etc. A sharp contrast to the drought decade up to a couple of years ago. The bird life in particular was very numerous, and in that respect, there was a huge volume of activity around the water’s edge, the little islands of vegetation that make up such an important part of the lake perimeter, and amongst the reeds and other lake growth. I also wandered around the Fernery area of the Gardens, and the ‘Adam Lindsay Gordon’ cottage, which was now a permanent display in the Ballarat Botanic Gardens.  I was becoming a little nostalgic again – remembering all the times that I had brought my family down to theses gardens, and the large playground area [the ‘kids’ were generally more interested in that area, in preference to the gardens], and over the years, I have collected many photographs of those wanderings. In earlier years, before marriage, there were various trips from Melbourne to Ballarat, to ‘show off’ the Gardens to friends, girlfriends, and others. I know I have taken the kids for the occasional ‘trip’ on the Ferry, which I see is now back and operating after an absence of some years – bit difficult to operate a ferry boat when there is no water!  And way back in my own childhood, one can remember the odd venture or two in a simple ‘rowing’ boat with my father on this lake. Like so many other things about Ballarat, our lake does bring back many memories of times past.

 
Brief stop off in the town for a morning coffee, and a wander around  the shopping area, before hitting the highway for the return drive to Sun bury – basically the road to highway from Adelaide to Melbourne, until I reach Melton, at which point I turn off and head north-east instead of due east, for the last stage of the drive to Sunbury. I did stop briefly in Melton  – for an iced coffee and what I assumed would be a fairly modest toasted cheese, ham & tomato sandwich. What in fact came out, was a meal on it’s own, so I was pretty well satisfied until the evening meal! Reached home early afternoon, not sure whether Susan was in Bendigo, or at work – the latter proved to be the situation. For myself, I had about six hours to catch up with a few tasks, and prepare my program format for tonight’s radio show [9pm – midnight]..

One of the books I purchased at a bargain sale a week or so ago was called ‘Australians of the Year: 1960 – 2010’, put together by a Wendy Lewis, and celebrating 50 years of remarkable achievement, with a bio of each winner of that award in the period covered. In fact, the first winner in 1960 was Sir Frank [Macfarlane] Burnet. He was Australia’s first Nobel Prize winner  [shared jointly for Physiology or Medicine in 1960 [for the research and discovery of immunological tolerance], and was widely regarded as Australia’s most influential scientist, who unlike many of his profession, remained in Australia for most of his professional life, working at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute. Under his influence, scientific research flourished  and top overseas scientists came to Australia at that time. In his acceptance banquet speech for the Nobel Prize, on 10 December 1960, Burnet said:\

“To advance science is highly honourable and I believe the institution of the Nobel Prizes has done much to raise the prestige of scientific discovery. But other things are equally honourable……Today and always there will be an obligation to pass on to the new generation the tradition of liberal scholarship – scientific, or in the humanities – and to bring the understanding of things and human actions to everyone”.

And with that thought, I shall move on >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Leave a Reply

Categories

