Posted by: jkirkby8712 | December 16, 2011

Thursday, 15 December 2011 – some items from the Indigenous Hospitality House!

Woke at 9.46 am!!  What is going on?  Now while I did wake briefly at around 4am, returning to sleep and not waking again until 9.46 am is unheard of in my vocabulary, just doesn’t happen.  Means I managed a rare 8-9 hours of sleep, with just one interruption!  I guess that means I needed it!!

No rest today however. A mid morning phone call from Shirley  – can I borrow the lawn mower today?   Fine, but could we leave it until this afternoon, as I wanted to run over my own lawns, but couldn’t do that until Susan arose, presumably around lunch time!  As it turned out, she went to work earlier than I’d expected, so I had the lawns all completed [their last cut before Christmas] by midday, and followed that up with a lunchtime walk  – all of which fitted in with a request from James about an earlier pickup of the mower  – I was rather glad that he had come for it, and in fact, for a change, did some of the mowing for Shirley – my eldest son not generally ‘available’ to do much of that nature around the ‘family’ home!

Now being a regular reader of the ABC’s Classic FM’s monthly magazine ‘Limelight’, I was interested to receive online advice of the winners of the 2011 Limelight Awards which had been just announced –   more than 4,000 readers and classical music lovers, including myself, voted to let the Magazine  know which recitals, operas, recordings and music personalities impressed us the most this year. The winners selected in each category are listed below, and while not many of my choices were the first selection of the majority, there was some great music talent there in any case.

·         Music Personality of the year  Vladimir Ashkenazy, conductor

·         Best orchestral concert   Australian World Orchestra/Simone Young  – Wagner: Tannhäuser Prelude and Venusberg Music;   Sculthorpe: Earth CryTchaikovsky: Symphony No 6

·         Best chamber music concert   SynergyXenakis Pleiades (City Recital Hall)   Also nominated:  –  The Australian String Quartet/Li-Wei Qin   Shaker Dances (national tour) –  my choice!!

·         Best solo performance   Fiona Campbell (mezzo-soprano), Haunting Handel, Australian Brandenburg Orchestra

·         Best opera production   Der Rosenkavalier (Opera Australia)

  • Best Performance in an opera (new category)    Teddy Tahu Rhodes (baritone), Figaro in The Marriage of Figaro
  • Best world music recording  Grigoryan, Slava & Leonard; Tawadros, Joseph & James  Band of Brothers (ABC Classics)      Also nominated: –  Gurrumul: Rrakala (Skinnyfish Music)…[my choice]
    Best Jazz Recording  The Idea of North: Extraordinary Tale (ABC Classics)  [GOOD SELECTION]   Also nominated –  Sarah McKenzie: Don’t Tempt Me (ABC Classics)  [my choice]
    Best new composition  Nigel Westlake.  Missa Solis: Requiem for Eli

·         Best classical recording   Mozart Violin Concertos Vol 2 – Australian Chamber Orchestra/Richard Tognetti (BIS)

·         Best event/festival    Musica Viva Festival, 2011

·          Best Newcomer   Zane Banks, guitarist    Also nominated:  – Sarah McKenzie, pianist/singer [my choice]

 

One of the other organisations I take an interest in, is the Indigenous Hospitality House [IHH], located down in North Carlton. I’ve referred to this previously  – a refresher reminds us that the IHH   offers a peaceful homely atmosphere for Indigenous people supporting a family member in Melbourne’s hospitals. IHH is a project that is overseen by the Aboriginal and Islander Christian Congress, and supported by the Church of All Nations as well as Christians of various denominations, other groups, individuals

and volunteers. Since its birth in 2001, the IHH has received over 1270 guests from across Australia via Aboriginal Liaison Officers in a range of hospitals and communities, and it provides accommodation to those guests while they have relatives been treated in Melbourne hospitals.  The most recent newsletter from the IHH included one or two items of interest I’d like to share. A little bit of ‘food for thought’ along the way.

 

  1. Here at the IHH we are looking forward to the end of the year and a bit of rest.  It’s been our busiest year ever. 147 guests (with 2 weeks to go, so we’ll break 150), with many longer term guests, which means more guests nights and more guests overall than every before.  In a busy year like this we really appreciate all the support that we receive through churches, individuals, organisations and community groups.  Thank you for your donations of goods, money, and food

 

  1. 2.        KATJIRRA (BUSH TOMATO)   KATJIRRAS ARE A FAVOURITE FOOD OF THE CENTRAL AUSTRALIAN ABORIGINAL PEOPLE. THIS FRUIT GROWS

                ONCE A YEAR IN THE DESERT ON A SMALL PLANT, BUT IT GIVES OUT A LOT OF FRUIT. PEOPLE CAN BUY THE DRIED FRUIT IN SHOPS, AND IT IS ALSO

                BEING USED IN CUISINE, CHUTNEYS, THE CHUTNEYS ARE BEING USED IN A LOT OF RESTAURANTS AROUND IN THE CENTRE. THE ABORIGINAL    

                WOMEN WOULD COLLECT THESE WHILE THE MEN WOULD GO OUR HUNTING FOR BIGGER GAME. THE FRUIT AND BRIGHT YELLOW AND VERY

                SWEET, BUT TO EAT TOO MANY CAN GIVE YOU A BAD TUMMY ACHE. THIS IS ONE OF MY FAVOURITE FOODS OF THE DESERT, AND CAN BE FOUND

                NEAR MY HOME INTJARTNAMA, WEST OF ALICE SPRINGS. THE CIRCLE ALWAYS REPRESENTS THE COMMUNITY OR THE PLANT IN ALL PAINTINGS.

               SAMANTHA COOK, ARANDA TRIBE

  1. 3.        My Brother

My brother has many faces.

Some white, some black, some yellow and olive.

Yet he is my brother.

My brother has many diseases.

Some starvation, and poverty, some heroin, and greed.

Yet he is still my brother.

My brother has many problems.

Some alcohol, and ego, some depression, and oppression,

Yet he is still my brother.

My brother sometimes does things I disapprove of.

But when I meet my brother,

I will shake his hand,

I will embrace his spirit,

And I will call him my brother.

Tiddas, from the album ‘Inside my kitchen’

 

  1. 4.        What’s difficult, awkward, embarrassing about your family? Are there any stories from your family that you’d prefer were kept quiet?

            As Christmas can be a time of great family awkwardness, during Advent a few of us have been doing some Bible studies looking

            at some of the awkward stories from Jesus’ family. Matthew’s gospel begins with a genealogy of Jesus. Most genealogies of the    

            time (for example, the genealogy in Luke’s gospel) would not have mentioned female ancestors, but this genealogy  mentions

            four women besides Jesus’ mother. Interestingly, the women mentioned in the genealogy – Tamar, Rahab, Ruth and Bathsheba

            – are all considered to be non-Israelite and are all  implicated in scandalous stories in the Hebrew Bible. I wonder what kind of

            impact these stories might have had for Jesus as he was growing up? I wonder if they might have come to mind as he and his

            community reflected on their encounters with ‘sinners’ and people from other nations? I wonder what we might see if we reflect

            shameful stories from the history of this country?

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

